THE POWER OF OUR THOUGHTS


The other day I posted a note about sending love to others to improve relationships. How love changes our own perception of others and theirs of us.

Reading Infinite Mind, by Valerie Hunt (Malibu Publishing, 1996), I was intrigued to come across her description of instances in which she changed the energy of rooms and also changed the behaviors of other people by sending thoughts to their higher mind.

She describes a situation in which someone was snoring loudly at night. She could not sleep and, after some experimentation, realized that she could get the person to stop snoring by sending a specific thought to that person’s higher mind.

We have such a tendency to become negative and cross when others’ behaviors bother us, but it is part of my own spiritual development to rise beyond those irritations and do something positive to change the situation.

In a loving way and very respectful way, Valerie Hunt sent a message to the snoring person to ask their Higher Self to monitor their brain to stop the snoring. It worked immediately.

This book is a wealth of new ideas and new exploration, a goldmine for anyone who wants to develop their higher behaviors and responses in life. It is full of practical discoveries and ideas.

It reminded me of my recent post and one previous one in which I discuss the problem of handling difficult relationships by thinking of the offending person in a new light.

The amazing thing, and the challenging discovery, is that thinking of others in positive and loving ways does actually result in a thawing of the ice and improvements in relationships.

So the onus is, as always, on us to monitor and develop our own responses and behaviors so we bring about the best response from others.

How difficult this can be!! Especially when it all happens so fast, in a few moments. Today I went to pay an account at the local drug store, an incredibly busy place, especially the pharmacy, where no amount of pharmacists and technicians seems to be enough to make the prescriptions flow out quickly.

The harrassed staff person came out from behind the pharmacy area to help me and let me pay my account. They couldn’t find the account because I did not recall the date the prescription was delivered to my home. How would I possibly be walking around with that kind of information in my head after two weeks or more? Most unlikely.

Rather than be irritated, I resignedly just said, “All right, I’ll wait till you phone me and pay with my credit card,” and turned to go away, but they said, “No, no, we’ll find it,” and after quite a search of a rather ungainly and out-dated handwritten notebook, they found my name and the date, and I paid the account. I did wonder that they had not computerized any of this stuff for handy reference.

Afterward, reading Valerie Hunt’s book, I pondered my inner irritation at the staff at the drugstore, and wondered what would have been more productive. I didn’t really show a lot of respect, more resignation, and I could have been much more supportive. As in, “You are so busy in here, I don’t know how you cope. I should have noted the date before I came in.”

OK, that would have been a stretch. Which just shows how much I need to evolve yet in my personal development. My natural inclination, on the spot, without warning, was to let my irritation affect the staff with my negative disapproval. I mean, they were so lucky I was coming in to pay my account, right? They should have got down on both knees and thanked me, right?

Fact is, my responsibility was to pay my account and I needed to be more supportive of them while doing it. There is a LOT of attitude work to be done there, do you notice that?

Well, another day, another improvement. Keep on truckin’.

About gentlenurse

Blogging is not only a pleasure, it is a basic necessity...I don't know how I have lived so much of my life without a blog. It gives me a place to write, a motivation to write, lots of reasons for reading lots of mind-expanding and challenging books, plenty to think about and be happy about. It has become a centerpiece of my retirement life along with my friends and pets, my faith and my afterlife journeys.
This entry was posted in In Love With Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

