Morphine from the grocery store: The Truth About Bread…and good ol’ Milk!


Today I am offering something different…I was making a black bean chili and thinking how nice a loaf of warm home made bread would be with it, with a nice slap of melting butter, and I recalled that a couple years ago  I made a discovery about good ol’ bread…homemade or not.

I always wondered why it was that I could not resist bread. No matter what diet I might be on at any point in my life, bread had to be on it. If it wasn’t, I put it on. At least three slices a day, that’s my level dose. Four slices is great. I can get by on three, rarely two. One day I wondered why. I actually thought to myself: I wonder if there is something addictive in bread??

Going to the internet I typed something in about bread and morphine and nearly fell off my chair when I found out the truth about bread!! And corn!!

Then, after a bit more typing, I discovered the truth about milk! The casein in it produces an opoid-like chemical in our body, same as bread does.

That day, I actually was able to find out how much “morphine”, so to speak, there was in half a loaf of bread. Today, no matter how long I searched, I can’t find that website again, the one that gives a way of measuring how much wheat “morphine” you get from x number of slices. Anyway, I guess that doesn’t matter. It’s a hit, a fix, anyhow, no matter how you measure it.

One new thing I found today: a brand new supplement I can buy that promises to inhibit the damaging effect of these substances in our gut, our brain, our bloodstream (for they do cause damage, and it’s not only wheat, corn and milk…there’s lots more! Even some vegetables!) It’s found at the first link below. I haven’t tried it and do not recommend it as I know nothing about it…except that it sounds hopeful enough that I am going to order some…that way, I can keep eating bread with my chili. (I think!) And this site gives more fascinating information as well.

http://www.millnut.com/Autism-ADHD_c_3.html#asd

http://www.butterfieldwellness.com/wholegrains.html

http://www.princeton.edu/~serge/ll/gfpak.html

http://www.medpedia.com/news_analysis/68-The-Heart-Scan-Blog/entries/62642-Heroin-Oxycontin-and-a-whole-wheat-bagel

About gentlenurse

Blogging is not only a pleasure, it is a basic necessity...I don't know how I have lived so much of my life without a blog. It gives me a place to write, a motivation to write, lots of reasons for reading lots of mind-expanding and challenging books, plenty to think about and be happy about. It has become a centerpiece of my retirement life along with my friends and pets, my faith and my afterlife journeys.
This entry was posted in In Love With Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

