THIS FOOD LOVER’S FAVORITE DIET SO FAR


Something that works at last! As I am over 60, I doubted I would ever find a diet that would help me lose weight and feel good at the same time. This amazing Food Lover’s Diet, put together by a charming young guy called Robert Ferguson, a nutritionist, allows me to eat all day long till lights out at night! (Actually he credits his mother with a certain amount of input here and there).

The key here is that, apparently, if you eat every two or three hours out of all your waking hours, you will lose weight. I thought oh yeah, right. Here we go again.

In fact, it’s so easy to eat every two or three hours, feels pretty natural now that I have done it for five days.

Well, to begin with, I did five days of the six day cleanse, which came close to killing me, or so I thought. Haven’t cleansed or fasted for a long time now. That is supposed to kick-start the process. So I did it and was well rewarded by being able to start on the initial phase of the actual diet.

As I noted in a previous post, my first shopping spree involved a very heavy roast of beef which put my back out as I carried it home. I called up a friend (Someone I was kind of hoping might adopt the stray cat who had come to my door pleading for help. The roast beef dinner was a ploy, didn’t work though, I had to take the cat to the SPCA after all.)

We had baked potato, cooked to a “T”, crispy and smelling great. Also peas, my guest’s favorite vegetable, roast and gravy. Then we finished off with a couple of cookies. All allowed on the diet!!

Well, maybe that particular meal contained a bit too much of what Ferguson calls “Fast Carbs” but it was a great start.

Tonight, for example, I am having roast chicken, gravy, half a baked potato, baked leeks and a turnip/carrot dish. All in the recommended portion sizes.

The portion sizes are handled by the hand and fingers. Some things you can have as much as your palm size and some things only as much as the fingers when they are bent over the palm and you measure up to the second knuckle. Like some sweet things for example.

You can have chocolate cake and apple pie and cookies. They even give you recipes. Today I made the recipe for biscuits and gravy. I mixed it, put it in the fridge overnight and will put the oven on to 500 degrees first thing tomorrow morning and fill the house with good smells…Hot biscuits! Gravy! What a diet! What a breakfast!

Oh, by the way, I have lost three and a half pounds in the first four days. Today is day five, I will check and see what I lost tomorrow morning, the only thing forbidden on this diet. No weigh scales allowed!! NONONO.

Well, rules are made to be broken, right? Personally, I need a little encouragement. Seeing the weight already coming off provided the motivation to keep going.

I mean, it’s such a sacrifice…

About gentlenurse

Blogging is not only a pleasure, it is a basic necessity...I don't know how I have lived so much of my life without a blog. It gives me a place to write, a motivation to write, lots of reasons for reading lots of mind-expanding and challenging books, plenty to think about and be happy about. It has become a centerpiece of my retirement life along with my friends and pets, my faith and my afterlife journeys.
This entry was posted in In love with food..., In Love With Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

