THINGS ARE SHAPING UP AGAIN!


Well, it’s been a while since I posted much on my blog, because of my surgery and the recovery time and the fact that I am allergic to the anaesthetic they used, and my brain has temporarily (I hope) imploded. Turns out I can’t have Fentanyl, nobody knew that though until it was too late. Looking at the Internet, I see that Fentanyl has triggered many lawsuits and some people have died. Can’t imagine why we are using it at all. Horrid stuff. Still seeing flashing lights behind my eyes, still pretty foggy but I am now able to return to working out, found my kick-boxing video and might start using it soon (Food Lover’s Fat Loss Diet equipment) but most of all, at last, at last, I am allowed to use my Total Flex workout machine again. This is my second week back at it, have lost all the fitness I gained earlier of course. After puzzling about what to do I decided to start with circuit training. Chose something called an Express Workout, ten exercises, three sets of each, 12 – 15 reps. Last week I just used the first five exercises as a circuit training attempt, then after a day’s rest, the other five. And I threw in a 20 minute Nordic Pole walk around some hilly places, but then decided I am better  taking a full day off between all types of exercise. This week I am able to easily do the full ten exercises as circuit training, made me feel terrific, didn’t think I could do it. Next day, though, I paid for my enthusiasm and had to wait two more days before doing anything else. Otherwise I get very sore and over tired. It takes days to recover from that, so not worth it. I am, after all, 68 years old. Everything takes longer. I guess. So tomorrow is Pole walking up and down hills for 20 – 30 minutes, then a day of rest and then back at the circuit training, maybe restrict myself to the five exercises instead of ten. That’s the intention, but I am determined this time around I will not injure myself, which I usually do. So if I am sore and tired, I will hold off. I can’t tell you how many times in my life I have started with gusto and ended up hurting myself, then no training at all for weeks. I will go back to kick boxing and strength training in a few weeks. It’s so much fun, I love working out, and I adore my Total Flex. Best thing I ever bought. It’s workin’ for me! Patience, patience, girl…easy does it!

About gentlenurse

Blogging is not only a pleasure, it is a basic necessity...I don't know how I have lived so much of my life without a blog. It gives me a place to write, a motivation to write, lots of reasons for reading lots of mind-expanding and challenging books, plenty to think about and be happy about. It has become a centerpiece of my retirement life along with my friends and pets, my faith and my afterlife journeys.
This entry was posted in Creating Reality, In Love With Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THINGS ARE SHAPING UP AGAIN!

  1. laughingrain says:

    hey glad you’re starting to feel like your old self and do you think the surgery is successful? I am 65 and I can still ride my bike, but uhm, probably not uphill! try something like that easy going abdomen thing…it’s fun. I’ll sell you mine cheap!

Leave a Reply

